New staff join the Department

17 Jun 2008 - 13:30

There are three new academic staff members for Psychology, as well as two new administrative support staff, in 2008.  Susan Malcolm-Smith, Leigh Schrieff, and Liberty Eaton have joined as lecturers in the first semester, and Judith Adriaanse as Administrative Assistant (at the CGC), and Mia Karriem as Senior Secretary.

Susan Malcolm-Smith holds Bachelors, Honours and Masters degrees from UCT.  Teaching areas include Cognitive Neuroscience, and Quantitative Methods in Psychology (postgraduate courses).  Research areas and interests include Theory of Mind, Social and Affective neuroscience, functional neuroimaging, and the neural mechanisms of dreaming


Leigh Schrieff holds a Bachelors degree from Vista University, and Honours and Masters degrees from UCT.  Teaching areas include Psychology 1, Cognitive Neuroscience, and an Introduction to Clinical Neuropsychology. Research areas and interests include paediatric neuropsychology (traumatic brain injury and cognitive rehabilitation), and the social psychology of contact and segregation

libby eaton 2008

Liberty Eaton holds Bachelors, Honours and Masters degrees from UCT, and a Ph.D. from the University of St Andrews.  Teaching and research interests centre on Social Psychology, especially the social psychology of intergroup relations, nationalism, and identity

Judith Adriaanse has been appointed as Administrative Assistant at the Child Guidance Clinic.  She will be responsible for the general administration and selection of candidates for the MA in Clinical Psychology programme


Mia Karriem has been appointed as Senior Secretary in the Department of Psychology, Upper Campus.  She will be responsible for administering the Psychology I programme and the 1st year B. Soc. Sci. extended programme.  She will also be responsible for the Work Return Room